September 21, 2014, 08:12:55 am
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email
News: Arturia's webmaster is glad to offer you these brand new forums ! Have fun using it and feel free to email any encountered problem at webmaster@arturia.com.

Arturia Forums



Author Topic: Minibrute NO sound except for using LFO to Amp  (Read 1454 times)

Pada

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
Minibrute NO sound except for using LFO to Amp
« on: September 12, 2013, 08:02:27 pm »
I've read all the other posts regarding problems to get sound and I know my way around synthesizers and definitely have no sustain turned down or so. Here is the problem; At the moment of turning the unit on, it is possible to use the keys to generate sound for a second or so, then it fades out quickly! After that it will stay completely silent, no matter what you do. Except for: turnning the LFO to "Amp", then you can get a sound out of the vco, and whilst doing this I can conclude that the filter are working, the pitch is working, and even changing the keys with the keyboard work. But the keys can never "trigger" any sound - I hope you can follow what I mean. One more thing, the Amp Envelopes seem to  be utterly non-functional, and the green lights never come on. (I only know they're green because I read that on this forum). The filter envelopes the same, nothing.

PLEASE HELP!!  ???
Could it be something lose inside? I guess the keys are not completely disconnected, since you can choose the note for that initial second of turning the machine ON.
Pat, Berlin

Pada

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
Re: Minibrute NO sound except for using LFO to Amp
« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2013, 08:12:00 pm »
FYI the switch on the back is definitely on KEY, I move it around many times back+forth now to be sure. It makes no difference to anything...

T3k

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
  • Karma: 1
Re: Minibrute NO sound except for using LFO to Amp
« Reply #2 on: September 12, 2013, 08:41:32 pm »
Could you take a picture of your Minibrute front panel?

The forum could replicate your patch and see if there's anything you overlooked.

The other day I thought my Minibrute was broken, but I had some setting wrong.

tertior

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 150
  • Karma: 1
Re: Minibrute NO sound except for using LFO to Amp
« Reply #3 on: September 12, 2013, 08:49:34 pm »
A tip for a new synthesist: when you get stuck, get back to the minimum patch (the manual shows how to do this for the MB).  If you can reliably get back there and something still doesn't work, then you might have a problem.  Usually, you do this and you get the head-slapper  and all is good.
[/size]
[/size]Post of Mmarsh , and I think it is a good idea

Pada

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
Re: Minibrute NO sound except for using LFO to Amp
« Reply #4 on: September 12, 2013, 08:59:30 pm »
Yes thanks, I doubt it but why not here is a screen shot. Is it possible that the "Gate source" is the problem, since it doesn't seem to make any difference what setting it is on. But that they sound actually works for a second when powering and quickly diminishes makes me worried. Image attached..


stevism

  • Beta-testers
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 238
  • Karma: 4
Re: Minibrute NO sound except for using LFO to Amp
« Reply #5 on: September 12, 2013, 09:28:01 pm »
well the patch is fine, thank you for posting that!

i think it may be the problem that plagues a lot of minibrutes when they are new, which is a loose internal cable.

check these threads:

http://www.arturia.com/evolution/smf/index.php?topic=7112.0

http://www.arturia.com/evolution/smf/index.php?topic=7997.0

also this but i'm not sure if it's the same thing. just thought i'd include it.

http://www.arturia.com/evolution/smf/index.php?topic=10188.0

Pada

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
Re: Minibrute NO sound except for using LFO to Amp
« Reply #6 on: September 12, 2013, 11:06:34 pm »
Thank you very much for your replies. I read those threads now again, and I would have to agree with what the last comment on one of them; is there a step by step instruction or at least schematic to check for these faulty or dropped connections and how to go about opening the case in a safe manner? Also the last edit on the "Started twice" topic is almost 1 year old now, what was the conclusion or solution?
Best,P

beefinator

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 135
  • Karma: 0
    • Soundcloud page
Re: Minibrute NO sound except for using LFO to Amp
« Reply #7 on: September 13, 2013, 01:07:52 am »
Also the last edit on the "Started twice" topic is almost 1 year old now, what was the conclusion or solution?
Best,P

That you just have to start it twice.  There was apparently a slight flaw in the psu circuitry that could cause parts to power up out of order, and fail to function properly.  This improper timing is just solved by turning off and on again, since the second time powering up, capacitors and such are already going to be partly charged, which ensures it will do the power on cycle correctly.

Perhaps they tweaked the design, but there's not much to be done on an existing minibrute, since it can be such an infrequent but easily solved issue.

Pada

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
Re: Minibrute NO sound except for using LFO to Amp
« Reply #8 on: September 13, 2013, 09:46:58 am »
Ok thank you. Mine does certainly not work after flicking the power on/off a couple of times though. It's only playing any sound if I hold some keys down already at strart up for about 0,5 - 1 seconds until it fades. No envelope functions, no green lights. LFO generates tone though.

Pada

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
Re: Minibrute NO sound except for using LFO to Amp
« Reply #9 on: September 13, 2013, 01:30:34 pm »
This is solved, seems like a connector was just a little bit loose inside, although it didn't seem directly loose, it's indeed working again  ;D

Grotto

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
Re: Minibrute NO sound except for using LFO to Amp
« Reply #10 on: May 17, 2014, 01:19:29 pm »
Hi Pada,

Don't know if you'll read this as the post is so old but my Minibrute has just recently exhibited exactly the same symptoms as yours. Can you advise me what the fix was? I've had a peek inside and can't see anything that looks loose or disconnected.

Anyone else who may know, please feel free to chip in - I've just contacted Arturia tech support about this and mentioned this post so hopefully they'll know what to do.

Cheers,
Mark

Grotto

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
Re: Minibrute NO sound except for using LFO to Amp
« Reply #11 on: May 17, 2014, 04:33:18 pm »
I've checked all the ribbon cables inside - all are very well glued in place, except for the one which connects to the keyboard. I disconnected and then reconnected it - no change, still the same problem.

The only other thing I did differently when this problem occurred was that I connected the gate out on the back of the Minibrute to my modular, something I'd not done before, specifically to a gate trigger in on an envelope generator. Any thoughts?

doublewardrummer

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: 0
Re: Minibrute NO sound except for using LFO to Amp
« Reply #12 on: September 15, 2014, 09:27:34 pm »
I suppose to have the same problem on mine SE unit just opened the box... I read the manual ,then... I swith the selector "gate source" in the back to "keyboard position" and now it look to works fine... :) :-)
hope this helps someone

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
SMF 2.0.2 | SMF © 2011, Simple Machines