April 24, 2014, 03:05:23 am
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email
News: Arturia's webmaster is glad to offer you these brand new forums ! Have fun using it and feel free to email any encountered problem at webmaster@arturia.com.

Arturia Forums



Author Topic: Export as Audio - what am I doing wrong?  (Read 582 times)

punkdSICO

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
  • Karma: 3
Export as Audio - what am I doing wrong?
« on: December 02, 2012, 10:46:35 pm »
Hi all - for the first time, I just tried dragging a pattern from Spark into Ableton Live (PC) but, it arrived as a MIDI track.  So, I checked my preferences but it was set correctly to export as WAV when dragging a pattern.  I tried creating a new audio track and dragging onto that but, it still arrives as a MIDI track.

Im clearly doing something wrong but, cant work it out!

thanks for any suggestions,

Paul
London
www.punkdisco.co.uk
Text SLUT to: 29 7 29 7
Here’s the video:  www.youtu.be/Zl0PTZKy7fg
London
www.punkdisco.co.uk
Text SLUT to: 29 7 29 7
Here’s the video:  www.youtu.be/Zl0PTZKy7fg

vaikl

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 163
  • Karma: 5
Re: Export as Audio - what am I doing wrong?
« Reply #1 on: December 02, 2012, 11:43:53 pm »
If you are in the library tab of the bottom window, click "Export" on the left in your current project. A popup menu  appears, where you can change the drag-and-drop behaviour for patterns from MIDI to audio ;)

punkdSICO

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
  • Karma: 3
Re: Export as Audio - what am I doing wrong?
« Reply #2 on: December 08, 2012, 09:39:12 pm »
Hi Vaikl - thanks for the reply.  I only just got around to testing this tonight but unfortunatly, it is definitely not working..

That option that you mention is the same option (but a different way of setting it) that is in the main Preferences section, and I have already played with this option.

So, whenever I drag a pattern, it always ends up as MIDI even with this option set to Export as Audio..

Has anyone else tried this in Ableton Live (v8 on PC)?  I have tried it both Session and Arrangement views in Live.

Thanks,

Paul
London
www.punkdisco.co.uk
Text SLUT to: 29 7 29 7
Here’s the video:  www.youtu.be/Zl0PTZKy7fg

vaikl

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 163
  • Karma: 5
Re: Export as Audio - what am I doing wrong?
« Reply #3 on: December 08, 2012, 09:45:25 pm »
Are you dragging from the Spark VSTi plugin in Ableton or are you running Spark as standalone?

I'm dragging within Live 8 (on a Mac) and don't have problems.

Can you drag/export audio to the desktop when using Spark standalone???
« Last Edit: December 09, 2012, 01:49:25 am by vaikl »

punkdSICO

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
  • Karma: 3
Re: Export as Audio - what am I doing wrong?
« Reply #4 on: December 09, 2012, 03:08:26 pm »
Hi again

I thought I had found a clue - I was runnnig a Beta 1.5.1 version but, I just reinstalled the correct production version (1.5) and still no joy.

I have also tried this outside of Live, running standalone.  I drag either a complete pattern from the main GUI (circular pattern selector) or, I drag a single track (say, the Kick track) from the Pattern windown.  Both of these just deliver a MID file to the desktop.



So, its definitely not a Live issue.  The fact that others can do this, it must be something stupid that I am doing wrong..??

btw, I can successfully Export using the menu method but not drag and drop.  I prefer the drag and drop version as it allows us to drag individual tracks.

Any thoughts?

thanks

Paul
London
www.punkdisco.co.uk
Text SLUT to: 29 7 29 7
Here’s the video:  www.youtu.be/Zl0PTZKy7fg

vaikl

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 163
  • Karma: 5
Re: Export as Audio - what am I doing wrong?
« Reply #5 on: December 09, 2012, 10:23:01 pm »
I'm sorry now, not working with a Windows machine I could only recommend to open a support ticket.

Kevin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.412
  • Karma: 78
    • http://www.arturia.com
Re: Export as Audio - what am I doing wrong?
« Reply #6 on: December 10, 2012, 10:36:16 am »
Hi Paul,
you are not doing anything wrong.
This is just that you can only export midi from there.
The only place you can export audio by drag&drop is from the library panel.
Kevin
Soft Arturia

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
SMF 2.0.2 | SMF © 2011, Simple Machines