April 21, 2014, 06:36:00 am
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email
News: Arturia's webmaster is glad to offer you these brand new forums ! Have fun using it and feel free to email any encountered problem at webmaster@arturia.com.

Arturia Forums



Author Topic: Accented Sound without accent?  (Read 536 times)

midimatik

  • Guest
Accented Sound without accent?
« on: December 22, 2012, 11:20:46 am »
Hey there,
iīm getting more and more into Spark and now iīm in front of a problem a canīt find out my
fault... When i program a Beat or a synth Sound there is often some notes with an accent in itīs sound,
just in some notes.
But i programm without accent, the Velocity is fixed at 64. For all Notes...

Where do i make a mistake?

BTW, when i come home my Origin should have arrived ;-)

Kevin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.412
  • Karma: 78
    • http://www.arturia.com
Re: Accented Sound without accent?
« Reply #1 on: December 24, 2012, 01:27:01 pm »
Hi,
what do you mean exactly by "some notes with an accent in itīs sound"?
Can you give me an example?

Kevin
Kevin
Soft Arturia

midimatik

  • Guest
Re: Accented Sound without accent?
« Reply #2 on: December 26, 2012, 12:51:27 am »
I mean that itīs possible to make a BD (for example standard "Techno BD" 1 - 5 - 9 -13)
with an accent on the 1. Same like programming Velocity on 5 -9 & 13 with a value of 80
and on the 1 with an value of 110 (just for example).

Thats what it sounds like sometimes, but there is no accent programmed and velocity is always the same.

Do you understand?

Kevin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.412
  • Karma: 78
    • http://www.arturia.com
Re: Accented Sound without accent?
« Reply #3 on: December 26, 2012, 02:04:15 pm »
Yes I understand but can you give me a project example where it is happening?
Kevin
Soft Arturia

Seb

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 87
  • Karma: 18
Re: Accented Sound without accent?
« Reply #4 on: December 26, 2012, 04:04:06 pm »
If there is one, try and remove the compressor on both the master and on the channel that has the problem. Listen again, see if it still happens.

Your feeling of "accent" could be due to the compressor being released and pumping back.
You could also have recorded some automation on volume for example, because you changed the volume while record was still active, check if any of the knobs have automation on them, that could be another cause.

Otherwise, I don't see...

midimatik

  • Guest
Re: Accented Sound without accent?
« Reply #5 on: December 27, 2012, 09:42:27 am »
Thank you both... ;D

It was a activated Compressor on the BD.  :-\
Such an easy thing and i did not find it out by myself :-[

Seb

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 87
  • Karma: 18
Re: Accented Sound without accent?
« Reply #6 on: December 27, 2012, 10:37:22 am »
:)

Quite a number of preset kits make use of heavy compression, either on individual instruments or on the master.

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
SMF 2.0.2 | SMF © 2011, Simple Machines