April 24, 2014, 06:53:08 am
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email
News: Arturia's webmaster is glad to offer you these brand new forums ! Have fun using it and feel free to email any encountered problem at webmaster@arturia.com.

Arturia Forums



Author Topic: New MiniBrute - Aftertouch Not Working?  (Read 666 times)

situationtwo

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 0
New MiniBrute - Aftertouch Not Working?
« on: April 03, 2013, 04:20:08 am »
Aftertouch doesn't appear to work at all - have tried switch on panel in all three positions with no change in sound, and also tried changing response setting in MiniBrute Connection also with no effect. No problems with any other control - am I missing something or is my unit defective?

Thanks,
Simon

Bruno@arturia

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 672
  • Karma: 20
Re: New MiniBrute - Aftertouch Not Working?
« Reply #1 on: April 04, 2013, 11:02:08 am »
Does it work if you sent aftertouch messages via MIDI or USB?
Bruno
Arturia Hardware

situationtwo

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 0
Re: New MiniBrute - Aftertouch Not Working?
« Reply #2 on: April 04, 2013, 08:46:40 pm »
Thanks - will test via MIDI tonight and let you know. BTW, have tested vs an in-store unit and confirmed lack of aftertouch via the keyboard on my synth vs a functioning unit.

situationtwo

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 0
Re: New MiniBrute - Aftertouch Not Working?
« Reply #3 on: April 05, 2013, 01:27:23 am »
Does it work if you sent aftertouch messages via MIDI or USB?

Bruno,

Aftertouch works via an external midi keyboard and the Aftertouch switch on the MiniBrute correctly switches between Off/Vibrato/Cutoff in that setup. No aftertouch on the MiniBrute keyboard itself.

Bruno@arturia

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 672
  • Karma: 20
Re: New MiniBrute - Aftertouch Not Working?
« Reply #4 on: April 05, 2013, 04:54:38 pm »
O,k so it's definitely from the hardware. You can either open the machine open check for a bad aftertouch cable connection(you can open a ticket at the support you'll be guided thru the process)
Bruno
Arturia Hardware

situationtwo

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 0
Re: New MiniBrute - Aftertouch Not Working?
« Reply #5 on: April 05, 2013, 05:02:36 pm »
O,k so it's definitely from the hardware. You can either open the machine open check for a bad aftertouch cable connection(you can open a ticket at the support you'll be guided thru the process)

Will work with support. If it's a bad connection is it simply a matter of reconnecting, or is soldering etc involved? No problem opening the case but if extensive repairs have to be performed I'd prefer to exchange the unit given it's brand new.

Thanks
Simon

Bruno@arturia

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 672
  • Karma: 20
Re: New MiniBrute - Aftertouch Not Working?
« Reply #6 on: April 08, 2013, 10:13:41 am »
It should be limited to reconnecting a cable, in the worst case, the cable has been hot glued in a bad position, you'll need to remove the glue, put the cable back in a place, and glue it again with silicon or hot glue, or whatever could maintain it.
Bruno
Arturia Hardware

situationtwo

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 0
Re: New MiniBrute - Aftertouch Not Working?
« Reply #7 on: April 08, 2013, 04:05:58 pm »
Thanks - made a request to support for instructions on Friday - let me know if there's a quicker/better way to obtain these.

Simon

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
SMF 2.0.2 | SMF © 2011, Simple Machines