August 30, 2014, 10:21:08 pm
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email
News: Arturia's webmaster is glad to offer you these brand new forums ! Have fun using it and feel free to email any encountered problem at webmaster@arturia.com.

Arturia Forums



Author Topic: Moog Modular and Garageband  (Read 4051 times)

somax

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: 0
Moog Modular and Garageband
« on: May 30, 2006, 02:06:04 am »
Is there a way to control the Moog software from within Garageband.  I'd like the output of the Moog software to record directly to Garageband as a software synth rather than through the external mic.  Like rewire in reason.

Any help is appreciated.

SUH

porchka66

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 0
Moog Modular and Garageband
« Reply #1 on: June 09, 2006, 03:25:31 am »
No probs,
all you have to do is to install the AU (Audio Unit) Version of the MMV
(Library>Audio>Plug-Ins>Components).
Garageband only works with Audio Units, not VSTīs.

Now open Garageband, create a new Track (Software Instrument),
and the Moog Modular V now should be available in the Instruments list.
(klick "Pianos and Keyboards" on the left, the MMV should show up on the
right list of the Instruments Window.)

Now you can play and record the MMV in Garageband via Midi keyboard,
or the with the Garageband Keyboard-Window.

To open up the full MMV-Interface in Garageband:
Double-klick the Instruments icon on the left side of the track,
open the "Details" Lane and klick the little Button with the pencil symbol
on the right side of the "generator" and "manually" popup-menus.

Hope that works!

reggoboy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: 0
Re: Moog Modular and Garageband
« Reply #2 on: July 06, 2012, 12:36:50 am »
Thanks, this post from porchka66 was helpful. But let me update it for GarageBand '11.

1) minimoog V installer already put the .AU files in /Library/Audio/Plug-Ins/Components, so that's all done already.

2) Open GarageBand '11.

3) Add a new Software Instrument

4) minimoog will NOT yet appear under Browse -> Pianos and Keyboards. Instead, switch to the Edit sub tab.

5) Under Sound Generator, select "minimoog V Original". For me, it was all the way at the bottom.

6) Then click Save Instrument... a the bottom and give it a name.

Now, you will find it listed under the Browse area for future use (you only have to do the above steps once.

Hope this helps!

Dave

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
SMF 2.0.2 | SMF © 2011, Simple Machines