September 01, 2014, 03:57:33 pm
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email
News: Arturia's webmaster is glad to offer you these brand new forums ! Have fun using it and feel free to email any encountered problem at webmaster@arturia.com.

Arturia Forums



Author Topic: Midi record in Pro Tools and Ableton  (Read 1618 times)

stuart

  • Spark Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 366
  • Karma: 15
Re: Midi record in Pro Tools and Ableton
« Reply #15 on: June 28, 2013, 01:58:21 am »
Hi Kevin


So, I have success ! Public in and out for playing in from pads or seq, switch back to Spark in Pro Tools for monitoring. Perhaps can we add that to an FAQ or an amend to the manual? As it seems that this trips a fair few people up, certainly it took me a time to get it to work. If private ports aren't really needed for convention USB use, can they not be hidden under the bonnet somewhere, perhaps in the Midi control centre

Thanks, Stuart
Mac 10.8.5
2.93Ghz Quad Core
48 Gb 1333 RAM
Pro Tools 10.3.9

Lynx Aurora 8
Lynx AES16
UAD 2 Duo
Arturia Spark
Arturia Minibrute
Arturia Analog Laboratory 61

Kevin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.539
  • Karma: 81
    • http://www.arturia.com
Re: Midi record in Pro Tools and Ableton
« Reply #16 on: June 28, 2013, 09:50:04 am »
Stuart,
you do not have to use public port to record MIDI from Spark plugin. These ports are used to Spark hardware as generic MIDI controller.
Concerning the Private Ports, if it was possible to hide them we would have done it.
But we are using the OS USB MIDI driver and this is not possible with this driver to do that.
We are considering using our own USB MIDI driver but this is something that is not trivial to do.

Kevin
Kevin
Soft Arturia

stuart

  • Spark Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 366
  • Karma: 15
Re: Midi record in Pro Tools and Ableton
« Reply #17 on: June 28, 2013, 12:27:32 pm »
Hi Kevin

In Pro Tools, create an instrument track and a master track. Insert Spark as the RTAS plug in on insert A.

On your instrument input section, choose Spark 1 Channel 1. Below that labelled, Midi output selector, navigate to Predefined Spark controller, Spark public OUT.
Presuming you have correct Spark prefs set up to record Seq or Pads, or both. You can record like this. I have been unable to record midi from Spark any other way. 

To monitor what you have just recorded change Midi output selector to Spark 1 Channel 1.

This is the only way I have been able to consistently record and monitor Spark in Pro Tools. If you can tell ne another way, I would be happy to hear it.

Thanks, Stuart
Mac 10.8.5
2.93Ghz Quad Core
48 Gb 1333 RAM
Pro Tools 10.3.9

Lynx Aurora 8
Lynx AES16
UAD 2 Duo
Arturia Spark
Arturia Minibrute
Arturia Analog Laboratory 61

Kevin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.539
  • Karma: 81
    • http://www.arturia.com
Re: Midi record in Pro Tools and Ableton
« Reply #18 on: June 28, 2013, 02:27:17 pm »
Hi Stuart.
- create a MIDI track A
- create a stereo instrument track B
- set track A input as track A
- set track A output to none
- click record on track A
- click record on main transport
- press play

Kevin
Kevin
Soft Arturia

stuart

  • Spark Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 366
  • Karma: 15
Re: Midi record in Pro Tools and Ableton
« Reply #19 on: June 28, 2013, 05:02:29 pm »
Hi Kevin

The point of an instrument track and specifically with software plug ins, is to route the midi inputs and outputs accordingly so that you don't have to create extra tracks in which to monitor the midi. This keeps the track count down if working with big sessions. The way you have described of course works, but it still means you have to switch the 'None' Midi output to Spark in order to monitor, which is fine but seems more set up involved than just creating 1 instrument track as Pro Tools intended it to be used. Having to configure an extra track everytime you want to add a Spark instrument seem more hassle to me, especially if speed is a factor.

Thanks, Stuart 


 
Mac 10.8.5
2.93Ghz Quad Core
48 Gb 1333 RAM
Pro Tools 10.3.9

Lynx Aurora 8
Lynx AES16
UAD 2 Duo
Arturia Spark
Arturia Minibrute
Arturia Analog Laboratory 61

Kevin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.539
  • Karma: 81
    • http://www.arturia.com
Re: Midi record in Pro Tools and Ableton
« Reply #20 on: June 28, 2013, 05:54:50 pm »
I know this is not convenient but this is the only way to do that correctly.

Kevin
Kevin
Soft Arturia

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
SMF 2.0.2 | SMF © 2011, Simple Machines