July 24, 2014, 02:20:25 am
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email
News: Arturia's webmaster is glad to offer you these brand new forums ! Have fun using it and feel free to email any encountered problem at webmaster@arturia.com.

Arturia Forums



Author Topic: HOW DO I USE THIS THING WITH ABLETON! (KEYLAB 49)  (Read 2033 times)

TruthTheGod

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 0
HOW DO I USE THIS THING WITH ABLETON! (KEYLAB 49)
« on: September 29, 2013, 11:46:42 pm »
I want to map the knobs/pads/faders to things in ableton, but I click on the MIDI Learn function in Ableton, and move a knob or fader and it doesn't map... ???

Dav1d

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 544
  • Karma: 26
Re: HOW DO I USE THIS THING WITH ABLETON! (KEYLAB 49)
« Reply #1 on: October 01, 2013, 02:32:25 pm »
Is there any MIDI message send from the Keyboard?
You are using MAC or PC?

Walth

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: 0
Re: HOW DO I USE THIS THING WITH ABLETON! (KEYLAB 49)
« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2013, 08:32:34 pm »
I want to map the knobs/pads/faders to things in ableton, but I click on the MIDI Learn function in Ableton, and move a knob or fader and it doesn't map... ???

In the settings, Midi tab, you should select "remote" as input for your keyboard's midi channel

Menu "Options", last item "Settings", on the dialog box that opens, you have some tab vertically on the left. Click on "Midi Sync" (3rd from the top).
Then you should see a list of Midi ports. Find the "Input" corresponding to your midi channel/keyboard. on the right hand side, you have 3 buttons (3 columns Track-Sync-Remote), On or OFF, the last on the right must be turned On in order for Ableton Live to accept your Midi Messages for any control learning.
Hope this helps.
« Last Edit: November 30, 2013, 08:40:55 pm by Walth »

methos

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: 0
Re: HOW DO I USE THIS THING WITH ABLETON! (KEYLAB 49)
« Reply #3 on: January 20, 2014, 02:02:30 am »
 Has anyone had luck with setting up a remote script?  I have triple checked all the settings for abletons  MIDI remote script but just won't work. I'm thinking it's a problem with the MIDI channel. although I've tried changing the channel from the keyboard and from the script.  I get the blue hand and even  MIDI activity being received but sadly nothing moves.

  Anybody have any insight?  I'm thinking about returning this keyboard even though I love it. I feel it could have much better integration with any daw.

Jordan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: 0
Re: HOW DO I USE THIS THING WITH ABLETON! (KEYLAB 49)
« Reply #4 on: May 13, 2014, 12:51:14 am »
Having the same problem, been trying to get this to work for a couple months on and off. followed all instructions. the folder that it tells you to put in remote scripts doesnt contain anything that would seem to make a diffeance. The arturia keylab 49-61 shows up in medi sync. still nothing! I havnt found anyone that has said this has worked. Pretty weak Arturia. returning keyboard if theres no solution.

smokey jack

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: 0
Re: HOW DO I USE THIS THING WITH ABLETON! (KEYLAB 49)
« Reply #5 on: June 09, 2014, 05:59:55 pm »
Was having the same problem when I initially bought KeyLab 49. Solved the problem under the "midi" tab within the "preferences" menu. Below all the pull down boxes, there is another section called "Midi Ports". Beneath "Midi Ports" are a bunch of "on/off" switches, and as long as your KeyLab is on, it should show up beneath there as both an output and input available midi port. Under the "Input:   KeLab49" row, toggle the "track", "sync", AND "remote" buttons "ON". The "remote" toggle switch gives you access to midi map the faders and parameters, and also use the drum pad. Seems like an easy fix so I hope this helps and fixes your problem. My biggest issue now has been trying to increase the sensitivity of the drum pad and changing octaves of the pads when trying to record beats. If you guys experiment and find anything out with these issues, advice would be greatly appreciated!

scbrown333

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: 0
Re: HOW DO I USE THIS THING WITH ABLETON! (KEYLAB 49)
« Reply #6 on: July 21, 2014, 10:36:53 pm »
Smokey Jack - did you happen to solve the pad sensitivity issue?  I fiddled around in the MIDI control program, but it didn't seem to change anything noticeable for mine.  Curious if you figured it out.  I don't want to keep having to pound on the pads.

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
SMF 2.0.2 | SMF © 2011, Simple Machines