August 31, 2014, 08:21:14 am
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email
News: Arturia's webmaster is glad to offer you these brand new forums ! Have fun using it and feel free to email any encountered problem at webmaster@arturia.com.

Arturia Forums



Author Topic: Audible VCO signal Without Touching any Keys  (Read 3189 times)

cowfood

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: 1
Re: Audible VCO signal Without Touching any Keys
« Reply #45 on: March 19, 2014, 04:02:19 am »
Thank you JayBee808, The ribbon cable right under the envelope was the ticket, just pushed mine back a little, no more crosstalk, both line and hp jacks are clean now.  Took me awhile to find this thread, but the fix - 10 minutes.

-CF

Icewind

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
Re: Audible VCO signal Without Touching any Keys
« Reply #46 on: March 25, 2014, 05:49:25 pm »
Just wanted to say that I also had this problem.  Took it back to the place of purchase, and got a new one.  Tried it at the shop, and everything seemed fine.  Once I got home, I noticed that I still had the bleed, but only when I turned up the ultrasaw.  I can live with that.  Although it is a little annoying.

I'm a little paranoid about opening up the microbrute to fix the issue. 

JayBee808

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 3
Re: Audible VCO signal Without Touching any Keys
« Reply #47 on: March 28, 2014, 08:13:22 am »
In my experience, analog synths will always require some maintenance. :-\  I've owned many over the years and opened every one at some point.

That being said... I think this fix for the Micro is extremely easy. It is really a matter of removing a BUNCH of screws on the bottom panel, gently pulling it off and then pushing the ribbon cable.  Easy to reassemble. Honestly I trust this method of repair way more than shipping the board in for the same repair. You might even end up with a used replacement, who knows how Arturia is dealing with this.

I am guessing after time and movement (mine travels a lot) this ribbon will move and become a problem again. I'm just expecting to make this adjustment on occasion.

I am also trying to figure out if there might be a way to shield that ribbon so that there isn't the crosstalk problem. Any ideas would be great!

I realize this seems like a wrong but I truly believe part of owning any keyboard is the maintenance of it. The MicroBrute is no exception. It is a wicked synthesizer and I am not concerned in the slightest.

Let me know if you have questions, glad to help out!

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
SMF 2.0.2 | SMF © 2011, Simple Machines