September 03, 2014, 04:25:19 am
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email
News: Arturia's webmaster is glad to offer you these brand new forums ! Have fun using it and feel free to email any encountered problem at webmaster@arturia.com.

Arturia Forums



Author Topic: Question about Gate Length param in Connection software  (Read 263 times)

lentoNinos

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: 4
Question about Gate Length param in Connection software
« on: December 13, 2013, 12:51:09 am »
I have a question about the Gate Length parameter. Does it only have an effect when the sequencer is in clock mode? I change it when I have the sequencer synced by gate (from korg volca), and the gate stays short no matter what. Also, using the tempo knob to double or divide the tempo doesn't work when "step on" is set to "gate". I assume this is as designed, but it would be so rad if this could work.

Bruno@arturia

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 686
  • Karma: 27
Re: Question about Gate Length param in Connection software
« Reply #1 on: December 13, 2013, 09:47:11 am »
That's normal. when receiving external gate signal in gate mode, gate opens when input is high is closes when input is low. Volcas provide a sync, not a gate signal. It's just a very short pulse.
It's not possible to apply gate len setting on a signal that could be nothing but periodic.

Bruno
Arturia Hardware

lentoNinos

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: 4
Re: Question about Gate Length param in Connection software
« Reply #2 on: December 15, 2013, 04:03:42 am »
I figured that that was the case. Thanks again Bruno!

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
SMF 2.0.2 | SMF © 2011, Simple Machines