July 24, 2014, 08:11:06 am
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email
News: Arturia's webmaster is glad to offer you these brand new forums ! Have fun using it and feel free to email any encountered problem at webmaster@arturia.com.

Arturia Forums



Author Topic: Sparkle 1.7 Double Notes  (Read 449 times)

ghunter

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: 1
Sparkle 1.7 Double Notes
« on: December 24, 2013, 12:30:59 pm »
Hello,

I have just picked up sparkle and loving it although I am receiving double notes across all 16 pads at various times. This is happening in stand alone, VST ableton 8 x32 and 9.1 x32.

I have disabled sparkle in the preferences although the double tapping still occurs. Is there something I can try?

regards
Greg

ghunter

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: 1
Re: Sparkle 1.7 Double Notes
« Reply #1 on: December 29, 2013, 05:15:00 pm »
Sorry I am currently running 1.7.1 not 1.7

I have tried sparkle on two separate devices and experiencing the issue on both. OS on both devices is windows 7 x64.

build 187 (rev: 7d9a7a7) 32bit
controller version 1.0.0.3

Here is a couple of results from midi-ox which shows the double taps on three different pads:
         
 0002FC87   1  --     90    3F    1E    1  Eb 4 Note On               
 0002FC91   1  --     80    3F    00    1  Eb 4 Note Off             
 0002FCCB   1  --     90    3F    64    1  Eb 4 Note On               
 0002FD05   1  --     80    3F    00    1  Eb 4 Note Off             
 0003052D   1  --     90    3C    40    1  C  4 Note On               
 0003053C   1  --     80    3C    00    1  C  4 Note Off             
 00030574   1  --     90    3C    05    1  C  4 Note On               
 0003057F   1  --     80    3C    00    1  C  4 Note Off             
 000315F5   1  --     90    41    22    1  F  4 Note On               
 000315FF   1  --     80    41    00    1  F  4 Note Off             
 00031638   1  --     90    41    0F    1  F  4 Note On               
 00031646   1  --     80    41    00    1  F  4 Note Off             

Can you please let me know if this looks like a hardware issue so I can contact the retailer.

many thanks
Greg



Kevin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.537
  • Karma: 81
    • http://www.arturia.com
Re: Sparkle 1.7 Double Notes
« Reply #2 on: December 30, 2013, 09:11:37 am »
Hi,
it looks like a hardware issue.
Does it happens on every pads?
Kevin
Soft Arturia

ghunter

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: 1
Re: Sparkle 1.7 Double Notes
« Reply #3 on: December 30, 2013, 09:40:32 am »
Hi Kevin,

Thanks for the reply. Yes it seems to be on every pad. I could probably replicate the issue across all pads and capture it in midi-os if it would help?

regards
Greg

Kevin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.537
  • Karma: 81
    • http://www.arturia.com
Re: Sparkle 1.7 Double Notes
« Reply #4 on: December 30, 2013, 10:12:21 am »
I think you can go to your retailer and ask for an exchange.
However you might encounter the same behavior. If this is the case, please let me know.

Kevin
Kevin
Soft Arturia

ghunter

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: 1
Re: Sparkle 1.7 Double Notes
« Reply #5 on: December 30, 2013, 10:47:10 am »
thanks Kevin, I will speak to my supplier and report back shortly.

greg

terrym

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 394
  • Karma: 53
    • soundcloud.com/logicaldream
Re: Sparkle 1.7 Double Notes
« Reply #6 on: January 02, 2014, 03:27:48 pm »
Hi g hunter ,are you using sparkle in a daw? if so you need to turn off midi through on your daw to stop double notes. when your is in record mode /listen if you have in sparkle pref send midi to pads for some reason it play double notes  one for the midi in and one for the vsti .

hope this helps

regards


terrym
Terry
aka Logicaldream

ghunter

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: 1
Re: Sparkle 1.7 Double Notes
« Reply #7 on: January 03, 2014, 10:04:52 am »
Hi Terry,

The issue was happening in both the DAW and standalone. I had seen in a similar post about disabling the midi through but unfortunately doing this did not resolve the issue.

My supplier has acknowledged the fault and has sent off for a new sparkle which I am currently waiting on. I will let you know how things are once the new device arrives.

thanks for the reply though!

Greg

ghunter

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: 1
Re: Sparkle 1.7 Double Notes
« Reply #8 on: January 10, 2014, 09:51:53 am »
Hello,

I received my replacement Sparkle yesterday and im glad to report there seems to be no more double taps! Iv only done a little testing but I'm pretty sure its working fine. Also when I had the other device it used to play samples really quietly but I thought it simply needed tweaking in either the sparkle software or ableton. As soon as I started tapping away on the new Sparkle all my samples were playing nice and loud so there must definitely have been an issue with the other device.

Thanks Kevin for you speedy replies and thanks to Arturia for this great little product.

Greg

Kevin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.537
  • Karma: 81
    • http://www.arturia.com
Re: Sparkle 1.7 Double Notes
« Reply #9 on: January 13, 2014, 10:00:04 am »
Glad to read this :)
Kevin
Soft Arturia

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
SMF 2.0.2 | SMF © 2011, Simple Machines