September 02, 2014, 01:35:58 am
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email
News: Arturia's webmaster is glad to offer you these brand new forums ! Have fun using it and feel free to email any encountered problem at webmaster@arturia.com.

Arturia Forums



Author Topic: start/stop with the preview function  (Read 2491 times)

Elektro

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 1
start/stop with the preview function
« on: March 16, 2009, 03:56:03 am »
hi...I have the origin expander. when i start my programm/multi with the "PREVIEW" function...the sequence starts playing in a different tempo and the origin freeze all knobs etc. for a short time (10-20sec). after this time it plays in the global tempo and than I can edit and change parameters. is this a bug??? Is there another way to start the sequencer instead using a keyboard or the preview function???

rcmusic

  • Beta-testers
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 258
  • Karma: 10
Re: start/stop with the preview function
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2009, 12:27:01 pm »
do you have the latest OS 1.0.6 installed ?

rcmusic

  • Beta-testers
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 258
  • Karma: 10
Re: start/stop with the preview function
« Reply #2 on: March 16, 2009, 12:29:43 pm »
or better 1.0.7 which seems to have been out those day

Elektro

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 1
Re: start/stop with the preview function
« Reply #3 on: March 16, 2009, 03:27:06 pm »
hi...it is OS 1.0.7.

rcmusic

  • Beta-testers
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 258
  • Karma: 10
Re: start/stop with the preview function
« Reply #4 on: March 16, 2009, 07:08:50 pm »
i'm installing 1.0.7 right now and will test this.

rcmusic

  • Beta-testers
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 258
  • Karma: 10
Re: start/stop with the preview function
« Reply #5 on: March 16, 2009, 09:52:47 pm »
no problem here tonite

Elektro

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 1
Re: start/stop with the preview function
« Reply #6 on: March 17, 2009, 02:31:38 am »
hi...RC maybe you could explain what excactly you did...thanks

rcmusic

  • Beta-testers
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 258
  • Karma: 10
Re: start/stop with the preview function
« Reply #7 on: March 17, 2009, 11:47:12 am »
Quote
the sequence starts playing in a different tempo and the origin freeze all knobs etc. for a short time (10-20sec). after this time it plays in the global tempo and than I can edit and change parameters

i did not experience this ;-)

Philippe

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 405
  • Karma: 49
Re: start/stop with the preview function
« Reply #8 on: March 17, 2009, 02:08:04 pm »
Quote
hi...I have the origin expander. when i start my programm/multi with the "PREVIEW" function...the sequence starts playing in a different tempo and the origin freeze all knobs etc. for a short time (10-20sec). after this time it plays in the global tempo and than I can edit and change parameters. is this a bug??? Is there another way to start the sequencer instead using a keyboard or the preview function???

The preview is there to get a rapid idea of the sound you can get with the preset. If the preset uses the sequencer then it starts it while playing a short note phrase. That's likely what you are describing in your message.
You have 2 methods to start the sequencer depending on the setting HOME/SETTING/"Sequence Auto Start":
- if this option is set to ON, then your sequencer starts automatically when the preset is loaded,
- if this option is set to OFF then you have to send a note ON (either by playing a MIDI keyboard, or by connecting Origin to a DAW thru the USB link).
Origin Lead  Developer

Elektro

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 1
Re: start/stop with the preview function
« Reply #9 on: March 18, 2009, 12:01:57 am »
...I have noticed that the ORIGIN plays with the "preview function" the "short note phrase" if there is just a PRESET in the memory.
But when I create a "MULTI" than the "preview function" plays the "sequences" from the "MULTI" !!!
I guess that the freeze and the tempo is coming still from datas of the "short note phrase" but playing the notes from the "MULTI sequences"...like I said just a guess

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
SMF 2.0.2 | SMF © 2011, Simple Machines