April 24, 2014, 11:06:20 am
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email
News: Arturia's webmaster is glad to offer you these brand new forums ! Have fun using it and feel free to email any encountered problem at webmaster@arturia.com.

Arturia Forums



Author Topic: MAPPING Controller to KONTAKT or any plugin for that matter  (Read 765 times)

minehead

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: -8
This should be a no brainer, a MIDI Learn function type operation...nope.
I go into MC mode, I assign the pad to the exact number/note to corresponding key in KONTAKT and it doesn't trigger. I try to assign the next pad over and not only will it not trigger, but the pad doesn't even light up/trigger or display MIDI info. Could you plz give explicit directions on mapping the Spark to plugins. This should be a simple MIDI Learn operation. I have never seen hardware that didn't have a simple MIDI LEARN function.

Kevin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.412
  • Karma: 78
    • http://www.arturia.com
Re: MAPPING Controller to KONTAKT or any plugin for that matter
« Reply #1 on: May 27, 2011, 10:06:55 am »
Hi,
I think you forgot to send the settings to the controller.
To assign the MIDI notes, please follow these steps:
1: Start Spark Controller
2: Press Filter+Roller+Slicer
3: Launch Spark MIDI Control Center
4: Go to Menu: File->Open
5: Select the file factory.smc, included with Spark Ableton Live Template
6: Go to Menu: Action->Send To Spark Controller (just to be sure you will start with the factory settings).
7: Press one pad
8: Choose the note number
9: Repeat 7 and 8 for each pad
10: Go to Menu: Action->Send To Spark Controller

It should be ok now.

Best
Kevin
Kevin
Soft Arturia

minehead

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: -8
Re: MAPPING Controller to KONTAKT or any plugin for that matter
« Reply #2 on: May 27, 2011, 08:06:42 pm »
ok, this procedure sort of works, but not in the way I want it to...how do I set the pads up to work like the drum machine pads ? right now I have them on "note" & "toggle" and the pad has be hot ON then OFF then ON again to get 2 beats, so I have to trigger it three times to get 2 hits...that's no good.what do I do to get the pads bangin' away like in drum machine mode...and how do I use patterns to play my samples in KONTAKT ? now if you tell me that I need to just drop the pattern in the DAW then I don't really need this as a MIDI Controller do I ? I could much easily use a keyboard and do it and not go through this madness !

Koshdukai

  • Beta-testers
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 420
  • Karma: 17
Re: MAPPING Controller to KONTAKT or any plugin for that matter
« Reply #3 on: May 27, 2011, 11:34:46 pm »
Have you tried changing "Toggle" to "Gate" ?

minehead

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: -8
Re: MAPPING Controller to KONTAKT or any plugin for that matter
« Reply #4 on: May 28, 2011, 05:43:31 am »
Have you tried changing "Toggle" to "Gate" ?

I did try gate and the same thing happened...thx.

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
SMF 2.0.2 | SMF © 2011, Simple Machines