September 22, 2014, 08:22:25 pm
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email
News: Arturia's webmaster is glad to offer you these brand new forums ! Have fun using it and feel free to email any encountered problem at webmaster@arturia.com.

Arturia Forums



Author Topic: SPARK Sampling frequency  (Read 1943 times)

mk2012

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: 1
SPARK Sampling frequency
« on: December 29, 2011, 09:17:32 pm »
Hi,
I have a big problem with my spark.
I'm using a sound card --> fireface 800 (192khz / 24 bits)
but when I'm playing music, all samples are accelerated.
If I play at 44khz all is ok.
I would like to reduce my latence and you know the fireface is optimized for 192khz/24 bits
do you have a solution for me? I cannot be the only user with this kind of problem...

thanks a lot.

mk2012

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: 1
Re: SPARK Sampling frequency
« Reply #1 on: December 29, 2011, 10:03:22 pm »
with stand alone or vst mode.

mk2012

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: 1
Re: SPARK Sampling frequency
« Reply #2 on: December 29, 2011, 10:52:36 pm »
we must work in 44khz with the spark. why?

I need to change the sample rate to 192000 hrz 1024 samples.

I cannot cause of this problem
« Last Edit: December 29, 2011, 11:29:22 pm by mk2012 »

Koshdukai

  • Beta-testers
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 439
  • Karma: 19
Re: SPARK Sampling frequency
« Reply #3 on: December 30, 2011, 12:31:32 am »
when I'm playing music, all samples are accelerated
You're on a Mac or PC?

When you say "playing music" what do you mean? Playing patterns on Spark ?

If you're on a PC and you mean that all your windows audio through WDM driver is accelerated but your ASIO audio is ok, then it's your card's ASIO driver that isn't resetting it's WDM counterpart's Sample Rate.

That's an usual bug on some WDM audio card drivers that the manufacturer needs to fix.


The last info I can add is that I'm playing Spark through my ASIO interface @96K sample rate and... it's working fine.

mk2012

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: 1
Re: SPARK Sampling frequency
« Reply #4 on: December 30, 2011, 01:30:15 am »
in documentation I found:

Choose the sample rate; default is 44,100 Hz. Increasing the
sample rate increases the quality of sound, but adds a bigger
load to CPU.

is it a joke? i think the spark has a problem with professional card.

mk2012

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: 1
Re: SPARK Sampling frequency
« Reply #5 on: December 30, 2011, 01:33:57 am »
hi koshdukai

I use a lot of Vst instrument with the sample rate 192

it's the first time I have a problem like that.

I am on a PC with Windows 7. ASIO Fireface Driver

the problem is the same with stand alone and VST.

the fireface cannot use the direct audio setting.

yes when I playing patterns. in fact when I press play button.

mk2012

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: 1
Re: SPARK Sampling frequency
« Reply #6 on: December 30, 2011, 01:42:12 am »
I will make and post a video on you tube to show you tomorrow.

you will see. it's  :'(

mk2012

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: 1
Re: SPARK Sampling frequency
« Reply #7 on: December 30, 2011, 02:36:44 am »
you right.

if I use the sample rate 44100 or 96000 it's ok.

but if I use 48000 or 192000 the spark is totally crazy.

all sound is accelerated when i press play button or a pad (like a live ressampling)... what does it mean?

do you have any solution?

mk2012

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: 1
Re: SPARK Sampling frequency
« Reply #8 on: December 30, 2011, 10:32:37 am »
the fireface 800 is a professionnal card? how can be possible?

Koshdukai

  • Beta-testers
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 439
  • Karma: 19
Re: SPARK Sampling frequency
« Reply #9 on: December 30, 2011, 01:08:48 pm »
Sorry for the very basic question, but... what other ASIO apps (DAWs, soft-synths) have you tried with your card that work with those sample rates?

btw, 48K works also ok on my ASIO audio interfaces.

...and, being "professional" doesn't mean it's done right or without bugs. Usually ASIO drivers or even the WDM drivers of professional audio interfaces have issues that need to be reported to the manufacturer support to be fixed... if that's what's happening in this case.

mk2012

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: 1
Re: SPARK Sampling frequency
« Reply #10 on: December 30, 2011, 02:16:21 pm »
I use propellerheads reason and cockos reaper.

I had no problem with them (with a sample rate of 192 or 48)

I use the EZ drummer. I have no problem with it.

but when I insert the spark vst. all become unstable. the spark play musique very fast.

according to me, the asio driver is correct. the problem is the spark VST.

no?


Kevin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.542
  • Karma: 82
    • http://www.arturia.com
Re: SPARK Sampling frequency
« Reply #11 on: January 02, 2012, 09:55:13 am »
Hi mk2012,
sorry for not getting back to you sooner.
I will try to reproduce the issue and get back to you ASAP.
However, as we don't have any Fireface here if you can do the video that you proposed it could be helpful.

Best
Kevin
Kevin
Soft Arturia

Koshdukai

  • Beta-testers
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 439
  • Karma: 19
Re: SPARK Sampling frequency
« Reply #12 on: January 02, 2012, 11:55:01 am »
but when I insert the spark vst. all become unstable. the spark play musique very fast.

according to me, the asio driver is correct. the problem is the spark VST.

no?
Yup, if all the other ASIO apps work ok, then it must be something with the VST :)

mk2012

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: 1
Re: SPARK Sampling frequency
« Reply #13 on: January 27, 2012, 08:05:01 pm »
hi,

I make a video of my problem.

thanks a lot for your help and sorry for my poor english

(i say always hundred but it's thousand of course)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EMmb34akhk8&feature=youtu.be

Kevin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.542
  • Karma: 82
    • http://www.arturia.com
Re: SPARK Sampling frequency
« Reply #14 on: January 30, 2012, 10:21:04 am »
Hi mk2012,
sorry for the late reply, I was off last week.
Unfortunately, I am still not able to reproduce the issue.
I will continue to investigate.
FYI we are working on a bugfix update so hopefully when we will found what is the problem you will not have to wait to long to get the update.

BEst
Kevin
Kevin
Soft Arturia

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
SMF 2.0.2 | SMF © 2011, Simple Machines