September 18, 2014, 09:46:03 am
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email
News: Arturia's webmaster is glad to offer you these brand new forums ! Have fun using it and feel free to email any encountered problem at webmaster@arturia.com.

Arturia Forums



Author Topic: Spark v1.4 Massive Bug? (IAC Driver Spark1 Midi OUT)  (Read 2353 times)

Lisapower1

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 72
  • Karma: 5
Spark v1.4 Massive Bug? (IAC Driver Spark1 Midi OUT)
« on: January 03, 2012, 02:46:38 am »
Hi, ;)

Please, i realy need some help!

- First Problem!

I want to use the Spark Controller with Logic Pro, (i don't need the Patterns) so if i hit a drumPad Logic would record it.
Right now it records only the midi note but not the Sound. i mean i can hear the Sound when i hit the pad, but if i play back the recorded file it plays those Patterns not what i have recorded. By playing spark on my Master Keyboard M-Audio Keystation Pro, Logic records just fine. but the Spark Controller dont. (The Patterns are always running by pressing play in Logic: that's anoying.)

i followed this Guide: http://www.arturia.net/downloads/spark/manual/Spark_1_4_What_s_new.pdf (Page 5)

And this is what i get. When i go to preferences in Spark where the midi settings are: it says:
"WOULD USE "IAC Driver Spark1 Midi OUT" BUT THE PORT DOESN'T EXIST"

What can i do?

- Second Problem:

i realy would like to know what the deal with this Message is:

Warning: MIDI Ports - You need to turn off some MIDI connections in your sequencer Software. Please go to your sequencer's MIDI settings and turn off "Spark Private In" and "Spark Private Out"

Does this Message appear because something is wrong, or is it a Standard Pop up? i know, i can uncheck the box. but, Hmmm i dont get it.

i only have connected a MasterKeyboard M-audio Keystation 88 Pro.
In Logic Pro in the Midi settings i can't find any info about Spark private Out or whatever to disable.

Please, i have Spark now 3 Weeks and i would like to make some music. i'm not an engineer.

The Arturia Spark is a great Controller and has fat Sounds, i would like to keep this Baby. but only if i can use it in Logic of corse.

Any Help is welcome. (maybe a video Tutorial how to use with Logic Pro)


Thanks in advance

Mac Pro quad Core 2.6GHz
6GB Ram
Lion 10.7.2
Logic Pro 9.1.6
Arturia Spark (connected via USB)
Audio Interface: M-Audio firewire 410 (connected via FireWire 400)
MasterKeyboard M-Audio Keystation Pro 88 (connected via USB)
« Last Edit: January 03, 2012, 02:57:53 am by Lisapower1 »

Lisapower1

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 72
  • Karma: 5
Re: Spark v1.4 Massive Bug? (IAC Driver Spark1 Midi OUT)
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2012, 02:52:25 am »
I Got it finaly to work in Logic Pro! ;D

i Disabled the Mackie Control in Logic's Preferences. I had it before in use with my iPad to control Logic Pro. Now it works.

In Logic (Envoirment window) i have to disable also the connection "sum" (delete connection cable) because by using FX Pad on Spark it always has played some midi Notes over the FX's.

Now it works like it should.

thanks a lot!!!

Kevin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.541
  • Karma: 82
    • http://www.arturia.com
Re: Spark v1.4 Massive Bug? (IAC Driver Spark1 Midi OUT)
« Reply #2 on: January 04, 2012, 09:10:09 am »
Hi,
sorry to not answer to you yesterday.
The best for the environnement window is to do like in this screencast. If you remove sum link, you will lose any other MIDI device messages.
Concerning IAC driver, if you follow the instructions in the What's New pdf it should work.

Tell me if everything is ok.
Kevin
Soft Arturia

Lisapower1

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 72
  • Karma: 5
Re: Spark v1.4 Massive Bug? (IAC Driver Spark1 Midi OUT)
« Reply #3 on: January 05, 2012, 08:20:40 am »
Hi, Kevin

thanks for answering.

Yes, i have done like you said, many thanks for the Logic environment guide ;).  The problem with the midi notes is gone, but there is one problem left (or a Bug?).

when i record a FX with spark FX pad it records well, but when i play back the song in logic the FX is always displaced, one time like this one time like that, always on another place. no matter what fx (Bitcrusher Strobe, delay etc…)
I thinks something with sync is wrong. i don't know.

By the way i want ask if the Tempo & Host Button must be set "on" in Spark Plug-in? or something else in spark Plug-in preferences. The Spark sequencer must be running in background if i want use the spark FX pad right?.

 everything else is working fine as far i know. sorry for my bad english.

thanks

cheers
« Last Edit: January 10, 2012, 11:35:45 pm by Lisapower1 »

terrym

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 431
  • Karma: 58
    • soundcloud.com/logicaldream
Re: Spark v1.4 Massive Bug? (IAC Driver Spark1 Midi OUT)
« Reply #4 on: January 05, 2012, 10:43:37 am »
Hi kevin ,i have tried this as well and get the same result ,as above spark will not show the port but its shows up in logic, i can even see the lac driver  in cubase so its not the driver.

regards
terry
Terry
aka Logicaldream

Kevin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.541
  • Karma: 82
    • http://www.arturia.com
Re: Spark v1.4 Massive Bug? (IAC Driver Spark1 Midi OUT)
« Reply #5 on: January 10, 2012, 09:26:32 am »
Hi Lisapower1,
sorry for not answering before.
You are not the first one to report issue with the FX pad in Logic. I will check it and get back to you ASAP.

The host button is to sync Spark sequencer with the host transport (play/stop).
The tempo button is to sync Spark sequencer with the host Tempo.
So if you want to have the FX pad synced with the host, it is better to have both enabled.

Best
Kevin
Kevin
Soft Arturia

Kevin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.541
  • Karma: 82
    • http://www.arturia.com
Re: Spark v1.4 Massive Bug? (IAC Driver Spark1 Midi OUT)
« Reply #6 on: January 10, 2012, 10:32:47 am »
Hi kevin ,i have tried this as well and get the same result ,as above spark will not show the port but its shows up in logic, i can even see the lac driver  in cubase so its not the driver.

regards
terry

Hi Terry,
can you give me some details? I don't understand what you mean.
Kevin
Soft Arturia

terrym

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 431
  • Karma: 58
    • soundcloud.com/logicaldream
Re: Spark v1.4 Massive Bug? (IAC Driver Spark1 Midi OUT)
« Reply #7 on: January 10, 2012, 12:00:50 pm »
hi kevin, i tried to follow the instructions to setup spark in logic so i can play the pads but spark always show its unable to find the lac driver .same as the other posts ive tried everything to get it to work .is it possible something to do with automap or novation controller
ps ive tried it without automap on the plugin of spark also

this is not a problem for me but could not work it out as donot use logic that much these days

regards
terry

« Last Edit: January 10, 2012, 12:19:25 pm by terrym »
Terry
aka Logicaldream

Kevin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.541
  • Karma: 82
    • http://www.arturia.com
Re: Spark v1.4 Massive Bug? (IAC Driver Spark1 Midi OUT)
« Reply #8 on: January 10, 2012, 12:18:02 pm »
Did you change the name of the IAC port in Audio MIDI Settings?
Kevin
Soft Arturia

terrym

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 431
  • Karma: 58
    • soundcloud.com/logicaldream
Re: Spark v1.4 Massive Bug? (IAC Driver Spark1 Midi OUT)
« Reply #9 on: January 10, 2012, 12:20:19 pm »
yes i did and it shows up in logic?? see picture added above
Terry
aka Logicaldream

Kevin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.541
  • Karma: 82
    • http://www.arturia.com
Re: Spark v1.4 Massive Bug? (IAC Driver Spark1 Midi OUT)
« Reply #10 on: January 10, 2012, 12:23:03 pm »
Try to rename it Spark1 Midi OUT instead of Spark1 MIDI OUT
Kevin
Soft Arturia

terrym

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 431
  • Karma: 58
    • soundcloud.com/logicaldream
Re: Spark v1.4 Massive Bug? (IAC Driver Spark1 Midi OUT)
« Reply #11 on: January 10, 2012, 12:30:06 pm »
i did this and still nothing does spark install the lac driver?

Hi kevin just got it working how strange is that .i deleted all iac ports and started again
and it working ok ,,i did have a main drive problem that i had to repair so maybe it was something to do with that
thanks anyway  im going to check also as i did not switch on the spark controller this time.
regards
terry
« Last Edit: January 10, 2012, 12:39:25 pm by terrym »
Terry
aka Logicaldream

Kevin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.541
  • Karma: 82
    • http://www.arturia.com
Re: Spark v1.4 Massive Bug? (IAC Driver Spark1 Midi OUT)
« Reply #12 on: January 10, 2012, 12:41:30 pm »
No IAC driver is in Mac OS X.
It gives the possibility to create virtual MIDI port to route MIDI applications.
Do you have the same thing in Spark preferences after renaming the port.
I think you already did but you have to restart Spark.
Kevin
Soft Arturia

terrym

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 431
  • Karma: 58
    • soundcloud.com/logicaldream
Re: Spark v1.4 Massive Bug? (IAC Driver Spark1 Midi OUT)
« Reply #13 on: January 10, 2012, 12:52:03 pm »
thanks kevin all working now as i said above.
Terry
aka Logicaldream

Kevin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.541
  • Karma: 82
    • http://www.arturia.com
Re: Spark v1.4 Massive Bug? (IAC Driver Spark1 Midi OUT)
« Reply #14 on: January 10, 2012, 01:53:59 pm »
Sorry, didn't read the previous mail correctly.
Kevin
Soft Arturia

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
SMF 2.0.2 | SMF © 2011, Simple Machines