April 17, 2014, 05:55:47 pm
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email
News: Arturia's webmaster is glad to offer you these brand new forums ! Have fun using it and feel free to email any encountered problem at webmaster@arturia.com.

Arturia Forums



Author Topic: Song Position via your DAW  (Read 1639 times)

shabbyroad

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
Re: Song Position via your DAW
« Reply #15 on: January 07, 2014, 10:48:10 pm »
Hi,
you are right there is no song position sync in Spark.
You may implement this in the near future.


Kevin

Hi Kevin, is there any plan or likelihood of implementing song position sync ? It's a real limiting factor and the workarounds aren't very elegant.

stuey

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 200
  • Karma: 9
Re: Song Position via your DAW
« Reply #16 on: January 07, 2014, 11:51:21 pm »
The first thing I do is record the audio from the multiple outs, obviously after setting up a beat. This way I can just use Audio tracks in Pro Tools and dump the Spark plug in. It's a hungry insert, I have 12 tracks of 1073 UAD EQ and 5 tracks of LA2A as well as other reverbs and other UAD processing. But, it's spark that moans when inserted into a channel. Hence I try and make it inactive as soon as I possibly can.

I wouldn't want a 'follow song' addition in Spark for many reasons, i'd be too preoccupied that Pro Tools would crash with the spark insert on a track.
I love my spark, it sounds great and is very easy to get beats going. It's a cool live tool and great in the studio, but it's not a very good plug in. You just have to learn it's limitation and focus on it's strengths 
Mac 10.7.5
2.3Ghz Quad Core 'Clovertown'
8 Gb 667 RAM
SSD Boot Drive
Lynx Aurora 8
Lynx AES16
UAD LA 610 Mk 2
UAD 2 Duo
Arturia Spark
Arturia Analog Laboratory 61
Pro Tools 10.3.7
Arturia V Collection
Arturia Analog Laboratory
Arturia Brass 2
Ableton Live 8
Reason 6.5
Melodyne Studio 3

shabbyroad

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
Re: Song Position via your DAW
« Reply #17 on: January 18, 2014, 05:24:40 pm »
Main reason I'd like position pointer is when I'm writing and don't want to "lock" my decisions into a track in Logic just yet.

Gothboy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 143
  • Karma: 4
    • Dymaxion Vehicle
Re: Song Position via your DAW
« Reply #18 on: February 04, 2014, 03:41:21 pm »
I've been using automation to control pattern changes in Ableton so as long as a part that contains the nodes is looped it's in Sync.  I'm interested however in learning how to do this in using midi notes.  How is this done can anyone quickly explain that?
It would be great to be able to sync Spark at any given spot in Live.
Apple Mac Pro 2.66 GHz. Intel Xeon Quad core 9GB RAM
Snow Leopard 10.6.8/Pro Tools 8.0.5 Digi 002R Ableton Live 9
M-Audio Radium 61/Novation Remote Zero SL/AlphaTrack controllers
Automap 3.7.4
V collection, SparkLE 1.7.1

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
SMF 2.0.2 | SMF © 2011, Simple Machines