April 23, 2014, 11:54:50 am
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email
News: Arturia's webmaster is glad to offer you these brand new forums ! Have fun using it and feel free to email any encountered problem at webmaster@arturia.com.

Arturia Forums



Author Topic: Is there a way to reorganise presets ?  (Read 859 times)

encore1

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: 4
Is there a way to reorganise presets ?
« on: August 05, 2012, 06:51:32 pm »
Hi all,

 by "reorganising", I mean copy/paste/move presets from one (sub)bank to the other.

I have seen that it is possible to rename/import/export  them but I would like to move some of them from one (sub)bank to the other according to my needs.

Thanks in advance for your help/suggestions. (in fact I have the same question for other Arturia's synths too:  Jupiter 8, etc.)

Cheers, eric

OneLittleFonzie

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 62
  • Karma: 0
Re: Is there a way to reorganise presets ?
« Reply #1 on: August 06, 2012, 08:18:09 am »
I think the easiest way is do move/copy/paste the files themselves.

Ron

encore1

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: 4
Re: Is there a way to reorganise presets ?
« Reply #2 on: August 06, 2012, 01:57:27 pm »
I think the easiest way is do move/copy/paste the files themselves.

Ron

 Hi Ron,

 Thanks for your suggestion but in fact I dont not understand which files are you talking about?
 Do you mean that each "\Bank\SubBank\Preset" sound is saved in a separate file that I could move or copy from one file path to the other ?

I you have any information about the location (or even better the file or path format) it would be great.

Thanks anyway, I will try to dig in that direction.
Cheers, eric

encore1

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: 4
Re: Is there a way to reorganise presets ?
« Reply #3 on: August 06, 2012, 10:55:23 pm »
hi Ron,  (its me again...)

Effectively, when checking on my hard drive, I found that all presets are stored in the following directories (under MS Windows) in two different ways for "old" and "recent" VSTs:

1)  "old" way of storing presets:
C:\ProgramData\Arturia\ARP2600 V2\save
C:\ProgramData\Arturia\Cs80v2\save
C:\ProgramData\Arturia\Jupiter-8V2\Save
C:\ProgramData\Arturia\Minimoog V\save
C:\ProgramData\Arturia\Moog Modular V 2\save
C:\ProgramData\Arturia\Prophet-V2\save
\P0
   \Bo
        \I0
            \NomInstrument <= Preset i.e. "CE_BassCelm4"
            \Parametres <= Preset data
        \I1
        \Ixxx...   
        \NomBanque <= contains sub-bank name i.e. "Basses"
   \B1
   \Bxxx...
   \NomPreset <= contains Bank name i.e. "C.Engel FACTORY"
\P1
\Pxxx...

2) "new" way of storing presets:
C:\ProgramData\Arturia\Oberheim SEM V\Preset Library
C:\ProgramData\Arturia\Wurlitzer V\Preset Library\
\Factory
   \Brendan Perry
       \BP_Caspian_SQ.obsp
       \BP_Geist_FX.obsp
       \...
   \D. Anderson
   \...
\User
   \CC4
        \CC4_Antarctica_BA.obsp
        \CC4_Appliantology_OR.obsp
        \....
   \Kreativ Sound
   \Logicaldream

I did some tests for the ModularV and if I copy/move (non-Factory) directories I can see the changes when restarting the VST but it is rather heavy as it is not easy to guess each directory contents as you need to open files containing bank\subbank\preset names.
I tried also for  teh SEMV new VSTs its a lot more simple as directory/filenames are more explicit => if you copy/move them and restart the VST you can see your changes too.

A standalone "all-in-one-preset-manager" application would be great in fact as the preset structure is rather intuitive.
 If something like this could be integrated in the "laboratory" for example it would be even better as I could hear the sound before reorganising my presets (moving/copy them to new banks)...




 

Carbonate design by Bloc
SMF 2.0.2 | SMF © 2011, Simple Machines